Accessibility tools

سفارة الجزائر بجمهورية فنلندا

Embassy of Algeria to Finland
الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية
People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria

Quick facts

To see the facts in PDF format, please click click here.

Official name People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria
National anthem Kassaman   
Capital city Alger
Main cities Oran, Constantine, Annaba, Ghardaia,
Tlemcen, Ouargla, Setif, Bejaia,
Mostaganem, Tizi Ouzou, Biskra.
Administrative organisation 48 Prefectures, 535 Sub-Prefectures, 1541 Municipalities
President Abdelaziz Bouteflika
Area 2,381,741 km²
Littoral 1600 Km
Position North Africa
Contact information 28 ° 00 N, 3 ° 00 E
Border countries Tunisia, Mali, Niger, Libya,
Morocco, Mauritania, Western Sahara
Climate Mediterranean climate in the north,
desert climate in the south
Time zone UTC + 1
Language Official and National Languages: Arabic, Tamazight
Commonly used languages French, English
Telephone code +213
National Code of Domains .DZ
Religion Sunni Islam
Change Algerian Dinar (DZD)


Population 40.4 million inhabitants
(1 January 2016)
Middle age 19 years old
Average density 16.72 inhabitants / km2
Life expectancy 73 years
Distribution of population by age group Under 19: 27.9%
Between 19 and 64: 64%
Over 65: 8.1%

Source: National Agency for Investment Development (ANDI)